Space 1999 Eagle Transporter Forum

Go Back   Space 1999 Eagle Transporter Forum > Deep Space Tracking Station > Ring Around the Moon

Notices

SPONSORED BY
&

Reply Bookmark and Share

Old 24-07-2013, 12:04 AM   #1
Slate Mcleod
Communications Officer

Default Can you ever finish a model ?

I have to confess I have been building for over 40 years but only a fraction of what I start ...maybe a fifth actually ever gets finished...and sometimes that can take years ! I know my friend Mr Knight is the same as he rarely finishes anything too ! I expect we all have partly made projects in the attic or cellar or spare room. Sometimes I can't get the internal lighting correct, sometimes it's the decals, sometimes it's just hardly worth the effort to modify a bad kit ! I must have at least 30 part built projects. Always hit a stumbling block and say "I will come back to it" and never do ! Well recently I am starting work on the model's that have been in moth balls seemingly for all eternity and I my approach is ....scrap that clever idea...forget that internal lighting you wanted...just get the damn thing built. A few recent threads here have inspired me to do that, especially "badsimmonds" Interceptor thread which I find rather fascinating. I always wanted 100% perfection before but ended up with 90% of my models still in boxes. I think I can go for 85% and still be happy and get the damn things built at last. I expect many of you here will feel the same and I hope you also get those boxes out of the attic and do the same I've pulled out Uncl Bills old Angel Interceptor today and splashed some Diamond White on it....looking good so far. It will never be 100% but I think it will still look damn good in the display cabinet ! Onwards and Upwards !
Slate Mcleod is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 09:47 AM   #2
Blue Moon
Communications Officer

Ditto!
Blue Moon is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 02:38 PM   #3