Space 1999 Eagle Transporter Forum


Go Back   Space 1999 Eagle Transporter Forum > Administration Complex > Captain's Toolbox

Notices

SPONSORED BY
&

Reply Bookmark and Share
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-07-2014, 03:08 PM   #1
Pinewoodalpha
Alphan
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Default Com-link monitor options?

Hi.
Im trying to construct a com-link. Only trouble I'm having is what to use for the com-link screen. Does anyone know the best mini-TV screen to use for the job, or provide some links to how others have achieved this?

Any help appreciated. Thankyou.
Pinewoodalpha is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2014, 06:48 PM   #2
boatshewsd2
Life Support Officer
 
boatshewsd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States (California)
Posts: 1,795
Default Information Please...

Hi, and welcome!

Steve Dix, are you still out there? I do seem to recall you diligently working on a commlock project just over this past year - pictures too!

Any other ideas, folks?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinewoodalpha View Post
Hi.
Im trying to construct a com-link. Only trouble I'm having is what to use for the com-link screen. Does anyone know the best mini-TV screen to use for the job, or provide some links to how others have achieved this?

Any help appreciated. Thankyou.
boatshewsd2 is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2014, 10:32 AM   #3
SteveDix
Eagle Pilot
 
SteveDix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Posts: 552
Default

Still here! I did try using one of the key fob style photo displays - the size was right, and you could play several episodes of 1999 on it when they were converted to 128x128 mp4s. However: the software, as supplied, didn't work at all well. Conversion was very hit-and miss. Support for post xp USB was very flaky, and Mac non-existant. Attempts to convert using a more general converter program wouldn't play : they had added some kind of flag to lock you to their code, which seemed to be a hacked-around ffmpeg with a windows front-end. In the end, I just didn't have time or the inclination to reverse-engineer it all, so I just printed a season 1 com lock graphic and stuck it on.


The 128x128 display would fit perfectly, however, with an arduino or similar single-board machine, if anyone more hardware - inclined was interested in getting it working.

I'm working on a 2nd commlock, made out of Sintra, mainly to see what the material is capable of.

Last edited by SteveDix; 27-07-2014 at 10:32 AM. Reason: doo be doo be dooo...
SteveDix is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 05:07 PM   #4
Pinewoodalpha
Alphan
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Hi.
Thanks for the reply. I did initially think of using a screen from a cheap MP3 player, then I thought about using a Digital Photo frame 2.5 inches. Pref one that you can upload short movie clips too. If not, then I would have just uploaded a few different pictures to it, and have it set to change every few seconds.

Would 2.5 inches be about the right size though?

Many thanks.
Pinewoodalpha is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 10:46 AM   #5
SteveDix
Eagle Pilot
 
SteveDix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Posts: 552
Default

commlock_screen.jpg

2.5 inches is far too big. The commlock screen is only about 1.5.

Last edited by SteveDix; 04-08-2014 at 10:51 AM.
SteveDix is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote

Old 23-02-2015, 08:20 PM   #6
IainD
Waste Technician
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveDix View Post
Attachment 16231

2.5 inches is far too big. The commlock screen is only about 1.5.
How about this? 1.5" TFT display: http://www.adafruit.com/products/910

IainD is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2015, 11:52 PM   #7
Slate Mcleod
Communications Officer
 
Slate Mcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Merseyside, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IainD View Post
How about this? 1.5" TFT display: http://www.adafruit.com/products/910

..and less than $40 ! good find !
Slate Mcleod is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2015, 12:34 AM   #8
IainD
Waste Technician
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slate Mcleod View Post
..and less than $40 ! good find !
Just make sure you understand all the warnings and caveats. Sometimes the stuff from these guys is delicate and requires special skills. I've made my fair share of mistakes buying a component that's just slightly wrong.
IainD is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:38 PM   #9
SteveDix
Eagle Pilot
 
SteveDix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Posts: 552
Default

IF you can get a longer ribbon cable to connect the display to the board, that would probably work.
SteveDix is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site and contents are copyright Bernard Walsh 2010 all rights reserved, no reproduction of material in any form without written permission email: Bernie.walsh@mac.com