SPONSORED BY
&

Reply Bookmark and Share

Old 05-05-2008, 06:09 PM   #1
Designasaurus
Travel Tube Technician

Default Mattel Eagle: Restoration and Upgrade

Hi All,

I'm new to the forum as a poster although I've been a long-time visitor. I've recently completed the restoration and upgrade of one of my Mattel Eagle One ships.

As a toy designer by trade I got tired of looking at the Eagle toy and seeing all the things that could have been done differently to enhance it's look and play value. I decided to dismantle and rebuild the Eagle as though I were mastering a prototype for production and not building a studio model for filming. I didn't want to simply repaint and weather everything I wanted to create as much detail as possible but keep the look and feel of a 1970's plastic spaceship.

One of my biggest pet peves has always been the bulky support columns inside the passanger pod. These make it virtually impossable to place pose action figures inside and was a huge waste of space. As far as I can tell these were only added as an aide to assembly. On my Eagle thes were the first things to be cut off and ground down.

I patched the holes in the roof and added some frick-frack to match the rest of the roof detailing. If you look closely you can see the wire-nuts, model sprus, and a Monopoly house which I used to disguise the holes.

On the floor I patched the holes from the outside matching the paneling to the rest of the bottom. I then installed wall-to-wall eva foam carpeting in a luscious 70's turquoise which fits with the era of the toy. I looked at a lot of photo's and screen captures and it seems like the actual Eagle set had bronw and beige flooring. I tried this on the toy and it sucked the life out of it...too dull.