Notices

SPONSORED BY
&

Reply Bookmark and Share

Old 01-08-2009, 04:06 PM   #1
Republibot 3.0
Chef

Default Information about an aborted Cinematic Revival of Space 1999

Hi, everyone. No, this is not spam. You can email me, and I'll reply and everything. Anyway, my website just posted a lengthy interview with fanfic draftsman ("Fandraft?") Keith Young, and one of the most interesting things to come out of it was the mention that he had been approached by the producers of Space: 1999 in the '90s about doing some set designs for a big-screen revival of the franchise that they were working towards. He even gave us a color preproduction sketch he'd done for the revised Main Mission set. It's kind of interesting. Here's the link: http://www.republibot.com/content/in...-never-got-see
Republibot 3.0 is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 04:36 PM   #2
Steve Gerard
Medical Officer

Default SPACE:1999 revival?

I studied Drafting for three years and Keith Young is an artist in his SPACE:1999 Blueprints.

We all will buy the CD releases!

To bad Keith did not get to do a SPACE:1999 revival.

Keith Young should be hired as the Production Designer on any SPACE:1999 reboot movie or TV Series.

Last edited by Steve Gerard; 01-08-2009 at 05:15 PM.
Steve Gerard is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 04:59 PM   #3
Republibot 3.0
Chef

Yeah, I know!

From what I glean, the idea would have been to pick up the story some years later on with as many of the original cast members as wanted to do it, and to introduce a 'next generation' of new characters to fill in for the ones who weren't there, and keep the story going. I'm not sure how far they got, or if they even had a solid story, but given that it was Byrne and Penfold, who were both writers, I'm sure they at least had a rough outline in mind.

If anyone out there has any additional information on this dead project, I'd love to hear it.