SPONSORED BY
&

Reply Bookmark and Share

Old 31-12-2009, 09:56 PM   #1
Designasaurus
Travel Tube Technician

Default Another Mattel Eagle Retrofit

Hi Guys,

Here's another one of my recent Eagle projects. Please let me know what you think esecially if you have suggestions for improving the next one.

As some of you know I'm a toy designer and collector so my interests swing more towards play value and the 'cool' factor rather than historical accuracy. With that in mind I like to 'restore' my Mattel Eagles in a way that keeps the look and feel or the original toy but still offers some visual and structural improvements. Somewhere in the near future I'm going to start adding lights and sounds to my eagle projects.

Here are some images from the recent build...

This Eagle is typical of how the toys usually look when they come to me. This one is yellowed from exposure to UV light. The previous owner also had a house fire so there is a lot of soot and smoke damage that will need to be removed.

Here is the cleaned and gutted main fuselage at the beginning of restoration. You can see the holes where the old interior columns used to attach to the roof and floor of the passanger pod. I've also started adding little detail bits here and there

Here are all of the repaired, rebuilt, and/or newly cast pieces layed out and ready for detailing

These interior components are cast from an orgional weapons rack and a couple of instrument towers I mastered using styrene and various Playmobile bits. After cleaning and painting these will be pressure-fit into the passanger pod.
Designasaurus is off duty   Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2009, 10:03 PM   #2
Designasaurus
Travel Tube Technician

Default More images from the build